You are welcome to NDA Academic Branch official website. Africa's top military university

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Welcome Message from the Dean

Prof DO Alabi

On behalf of the staff of Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, I would like to warmly welcome you. We eagerly welcome all visitors that are willing to bring workable projects to aid the development of the academy, Nigeria and the world at large. We are committed to raising a generation of military personnel that will bring positive change and progress to our world.


FASS is almost 29 years old.  It was set up at the beginning of 1986/87 academic year.  In 1985/86 session when the NDA degree programme took off there were no Faculties.  Then in September 1986 the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences was created.  Its Silver Jubilee Anniversary was celebrated in October 2011.  There were only three Departments at the time the Faculty came into existence – the Department of Economics, the Department of Geography, and the Department of History.  There were only about 14 foundation academic staff.  Only two of these staff are still in the service of the Academy.   These are Associate Professor LO Enukora many times Head of the Department of Geography; Professor OE Tangban a former Head of the Department of History and International Studies former Dean of the Postgraduate School and the current Dean of the Faculty.  Over the years the Faculty has expanded in terms of the number of Departments and staff.

At the undergraduate level, teaching in the Faculty centres exclusively on the cadets.  The Faculty prepares Arts cadets for B.A. Honours degrees in Arabic, French, and History.  Social Science cadets are prepared for B.Sc. Honours degrees in Accounting, Economics, Geography, Political Science and Defence Studies, and Psychology. 

Empty tab. Edit page to add content here.


S/N Rank Name From To
1. Asso Prof AE Ekoko BA MSc PhD Oct 1986 Sep 1990
2. Prof AA Aderinto BSc MA PhD Oct 1990 Sep 1994
3. Prof CN Ubah BA MA PhD Oct 1994 Sep 1996
4. Prof AA Aderinto BSc MA PhD Oct 1996 Sep 1998
5. Prof AM Yakubu BA MPhiL DPhiL Oct 1998 Sep 2000
6. Prof CN Ubah BA MA PhD Oct 2000 Sep 2002
7. Prof AM Yakubu BA MPhiL DPhiL Oct 2002 Sep 2004
8. Prof CN Ubah BA MA PhD Oct 2004 Sep 2006
9. Prof AA Lipede BA MA DPhiL Oct 2006 Sep 2008
10. Prof DO Alabi BSc MSc PhD Oct 2008 Sep 2010
11. Prof CN Ubah BA MA PhD Oct 2010 Sep 2013
12. Prof OE Tangban BA MPhil. PhD Oct 2013 Oct 2017
12. Prof CI Egwaikhide. PhD Oct 2017 Nov 2017
12. Prof DO Alabi. PhD Dec 2017 Till Date

Faculty of Arts  and Social Sciences

Nigerian Defence Academy

PMB 2109