You are welcome to NDA Academic Branch official website. Africa's top military university


Welcome Message from the Dean

Dr.DS Nyitamen
Dean, FE

It is my pleasure to welcome you to the Faculty of Engineering which was established to produce professionally competent Engineer Officers for the Nigerian Armed Forces.  The faculty came on board in 1988 and has since been living up to its mission of training quality officers with the requisite skills and intellect to maintain, develop and produce hardware necessary for the advancement of the military in particular and the Nigerian society in general.

Apart from the primary mandate of training cadets, the faculty is engaged in research activities and also seeks close collaboration with other institutions in order to widen its horizon through cross fertilization of ideas.  Furthermore, the faculty has expanded its scope by introducing postgraduate programmes in 2007. These include Postgraduate Diploma, Masters and Doctor of Philosophy.  I am also pleased to add that the programmes have been fully accredited by both the National Universities Commission (NUC) and the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN).  Once again, it is with utmost delight as the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering that I welcome you to our site.

History of the Faculty

Faculty of Engineering was established in NDA in 1989/1990 Academic Session comprising of two Departments, namely, Department of Electrical Electronics Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. Thereafter the Department of Civil Engineering was also established in 1997. Since inception, the Faculty has lived up to its mandate, which is to impart to the Officer Cadets, required knowledge, skills and values in Engineering and character. The Faculty of Engineering in 2007 also started a Postgraduate programme at PGD, Master’s and Doctorate degrees level and has graduated many PG students.

Faculty Appointment

Administrative Staff

S/N Appointment Name
1. Chief Principal Secretary Mrs Jumai Ojuh
2. Faculty Officer Mrs Aisha Iliyasu

Faculty Appointment 2018/2019

S/N Appointment Name
1 Faculty Exam Officer Dr AI Araga
2 Asst Faculty Exam Officer Dr us uMAR
3 Faculty Time Table Officer Wg Cdr (Dr) NCA Ozoekwe (rtd)
4 CIWES Coordinator Dr JO Afolayan
5 Faculty PG Coordinator Dr II Alabi
6 Faculty Research Coordinator Dr Rabia Batagarawa
7 Faculty Rep Academic Committee Dr FOP Oriola
8 Faculty Rep Academic Committee Dr TN Guma
9 Faculty Rep A&PC Dr JO Akindapo
10 Faculty Rep A&PC Col IA Chukwujama(rtd)
11 Faculty Rep Academic Board FASS Dr FO Adunola
12 Faculty Rep Academic Board Engr UN Wilson
13 Faculty Rep Academic Board Dr AI Araga
14 Faculty Rep Academy Curriculum Committee Dr OF Agboola
15 Faculty Rep Academy Library Committee Dr SF Kolawole
16 Faculty Welfare Coordinator Wg Cdr (Dr) NCA Ozoekwe (rtd)


From the inception of the Faculty of Engineering in 1988, the following are the staff members who have served as Dean of the Faculty:

S/N Name From To
1. Maj Gen BI Oteri Sep 88 Sep 93
2. Lt Col Balogun Sep 93 Feb 95
3. Prof A Salihu Feb 95 Oct 98
4. Lt Col UA Umar Oct 98 Apr 99
5. Sqn Ldr CO Usoh Apr 99 Mar 00
6. Wg Cdr CL Wamdeo Mar 00 Sep 02
7. Dr AS Daura Oct 02 Sep 04
8. Dr FOP Oriola Oct 04 Sep 08
9. Prof AK Oyinlola Oct 08 Feb 11
10. Dr FOP Oriola Feb 11 Sep 13
11. Assoc Prof OF Agboola Oct 13 Oct 16
12. Dr DS Nyitamen Oct 16 Date


Faculty  of Engineering

Nigerian Defence Academy

PMB 2109